Effective New Sales Funnel for WooCommerce
Hey this is Chris from WooCurve and if you run a WooCommerce store or you’re thinking about getting started with WooCommerce, I have something really cool to show you.
There’s a new sales funnel that’s exclusively available for WooCommerce users and I want to walk you through how it works.
Other WooCommerce users, as you’ll see below, have been using this funnel to permanently increase their Average Order Value (AOV) each month.
Your AOV is one of the most important numbers in your business. To calculate your AOV in a given month, simply divide that month’s revenue by the total number of orders.
For example if your revenue one month was $20,000 and you had 1,000 orders – your AOV would be $20.
So if you have an AOV of $20 and you figure out a way to grow to $24, you’ve just increased your sales by 20%. It’s really powerful because you can send existing customers or subscribers back through a promotion and you’ll earn more per transaction.
Math may not be your thing and that’s ok. But I needed to make sure we’re on the same page.
So now that we know what AOV is and why it matters, let me show you how to increase it…
Understanding the WooCommerce Sales Funnel
Your typical sales funnel looks like this:
1. Acquisition
At the top of your funnel you spend all your energy on acquisition. You’re testing different marketing channels trying to acquire a new lead; someone to opt in to your email list. Even better if you can acquire a new customer by using a low priced item.
2. Activation
After acquisition, your want to activate your new lead. At the activation stage you spend your energy trying to increase action among your subscribers. An action is when a lead clicks a link in your email, watches a product video, attends one of your webinars or simply reply to one of your emails.
There are other actions a lead or prospect can take of course. But I think you get the idea.
3. Consideration
The next phase is called consideration. This is the phase where your prospect is considering a purchase. You’ll know your prospects are in this phase when they begin adding items to the cart without checking out. Or maybe they reach out with questions on a specific product in your store.
If you’re running paid search advertising, you can actually target prospects you know are in consideration based on the types of searches they’re conducting. It is possible to skip directly to the consideration phase with a prospect if you can get in front of them at the right time.
4. Conversion
The final phase of the traditional WooCommerce sales funnel is conversion. This is when a prospect becomes a customer. They’ve thought it through and decided that your product and your store is the best solution to their problem.
No matter what you sell, don’t take this moment lightly!
When someone decides to give you money in exchange for your product or service, do you think they trust you? Do they trust you enough to enter in their credit card info and tell you their address?
Heck yeah they trust you!
And I want to show you what you can do to earn even more of their trust AND increase your sales at the same time.
The Stormy Upsell Debacle
Back in college I spent a summer out in Colorado. One of my goals was to hike to the top of Long’s Peak, the tallest mountain in the Rocky Mountain National Park.
I had zero hiking experience and my plan was to hike to the base of the peak, spend the night there and summit the next day.
The night before I made a run to the grocery store and picked up some supplies. I made a few PB&J sandwiches and packed six bottles of water.
Want to know what happened?
I ran out of food and water by bedtime. Then I woke up with a throbbing headache from the altitude and dehydration. And I didn’t have enough strength to make it to the summit. I barely made it back to the car.
Here’s why this matters to you…
What if when I was at the store buying those six bottles of water, the store owner came up to me and asked me where I was headed? After I told him, what if he said he’d done that same hike a dozen times and if I wanted to avoid dehydration I needed to buy twice as much water?
Would I have stormed off angry because he was just trying to upsell me?
No way. I had no idea what I was doing and couldn’t foresee the future problems I would face. I would have been grateful.
I tell you this story because this is exactly how the new sales funnel for WooCommerce works. See…
YOU are that expert to your customers!
And it’s your job to take a look at what they’re buying, and make sure they leave your store with everything they need – even if they don’t know they need it.
Introducing the NEW Sales Funnel for WooCommerce
Here’s how the new sales funnel for WooCommerce works. It starts at the moment of conversion, but really kicks into high gear immediately AFTER conversion (i.e. after someone makes a purchase).
First Moment of Conversion
The first moment of conversion takes place after your prospect has placed all their items in the cart and they find themselves on your checkout page.
The checkout page is the most important page in your sales funnel by the way.
Your prospect has already decided to buy and your job is to make sure they have everything they need.
Order Bump
So on your checkout page you want to use something called an Order Bump as a way to recommend an additional item that you know they’re going to need. This item can even be displayed based on what they’re buying.
But let’s say your Order Bump offers a $30 product and only 10% of your customers take it. Using those same 1,000 orders from above when we calculated AOV, you just added $3,000 to your total sales.
And you increased your AOV from $20 to $23.Hidden Content
But we’re just getting started! Because NOW we focus on the moment AFTER conversion.
Remember when I said that the highest moment of trust is immediately after someone makes a purchase with you?
This is your chance to earn even more trust by displaying your expertise and selling them even more products.
We use a One Click Upsell to do this.
In the new sales funnel for WooCommerce you want to look at the specific product or products someone in your store is buying and ask yourself three questions:
- What future problem will my customer have after buying these?
- How could I help them solve their problem faster?
- What else can I offer now that I know they’re buying this product?
When you ask these questions, your answers will determine which upsells you introduce AND how you introduce them.
It’s just like my experience buying water. I needed someone who could look into the future for me and tell me about the problems I’d be facing. I needed that upsell.
Your customer’s situation might not be so dire. But think about this…
If your customer purchases a health supplement that increases energy from your supplement store, does that tell you anything about them? Do you think you might be able to recommend other products or programs to increase or manage energy?
Absolutely you can! And these are the things you add to your post conversion sequence.
You can literally stack your One Click Upsells on top of each other after the purchase.
And if someone says no to your first upsell, you show them a downsell. If you want to learn more about good ethics in upselling, click here
Post Purchase One Click Upsells for WooCommerce Flat Out Work!
Now the great thing about Post Purchase One Click Upsells is you can sell higher priced items to people who just spent money with you.
I recommend you offer some type of discount that goes away if they leave the page.
And the beauty is your customer only has to click a button to purchase. The don’t have to re-enter their credit card!
You can offer a $200 upsell for $150. And let’s say that only 5% of your customers take it.
We’ll ignore the fact that you’ll have other upsells and downsells behind that one.
But with those 1,000 orders from above, you just added $7,500 in additional sales from the same customers who were going to buy from you anyway!
Your new AOV is $27.50.
Are you starting to see how powerful this is?
You don’t have to acquire new customers. The sales funnel I just showed you, increases your AOV and total sales with the same amount of customer traffic you already have in place!
Now it’s possible you’re reading this and thinking “Chris, these are not new concepts.”
And you’re right. But they are new for WooCommerce users.
===> WooCommerce users have never been able to use Order Bumps on their checkout pages until now.
===> WooCommerce users have never been able to offer Post Purchase One Click Upsells until now.
Yes these methods work. And now, you get to see how they work on WooCommerce.
You can try any of these on your store for just $1.
And here’s the best part…the ROI from One Click Upsells for WooCommerce alone will more than pay for itself.
Or the Order Bump that comes standard with Handsome Checkout will easily cover the minimal cost after your trial is over. Click here to see a video on how to use Handsome Checkout with One Click Upsells.
We can’t wait to see what these proven, time tested strategies can do for you. In no time you’ll be sending me the same type of message that Anthony sent me when he set up One Click Upsells.
Or you might send me a message on Facebook like Kosuke and Xavier:
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Like I said…I can’t wait to see!